IPA Lifetime Achievement Award

The IPA Lifetime Achievement Award acknowledges the lifetime contribution of an individual for outstanding research in permafrost science or engineering, and/or for exceptional contributions to the international permafrost community. A maximum of one award is made every two years, at the regional and international conferences on permafrost.

Nominations should be submitted by adhering bodies to the IPA Secretariat (contact@ipa-permafrost.org) prior to the deadline set by the IPA Nominations and Awards Committee.

The nomination package consists of the following:

  1. A brief section with the name and the contact information of the nominee;
  2. Confirmation that the nominee has been informed of the nomination and agrees to be nominated;
  3. A citation documenting the nomination; and
  4. Up to five (5) letters of support (as part of the form).

The nomination package should include at least three (3) letters of support from three (3) different IPA members countries. Up to five (5) can be made. The lead letter of support should come from an IPA member country adhering body. Each IPA member country, through its adhering body, submits only one (1) nomination as lead, although individuals from the IPA member country can write letters of support for other nominations. Nominations are not made by individuals.

If you are interested in nominating an individual, please contact the relevant country representative and download the form to prepare your nomination. 

Submission deadline to the Secretariat is end of November 2023.

2020 Award Winner: Dr. Jerry Brown

The recipient of the IPA Lifetime Achievement Award 2020 is Dr. Jerry Brown (shown presiding over the opening ceremony of the 9th International Conference on Permafrost, NICOP, at the University of Alaska Fairbanks).

Read more

Past Awardees

Prof. Wilfried Haeberli (2018)

The recipient of the IPA Lifetime Achievement Award 2018 is Prof. Wilfried Haeberli (shown receiving his award from Hanne Christiansen, IPA President 2016-2020).

Read more

Hugh French (2016)

The fourth IPA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Hugh French in June 2016 during the 11th International Conference on Permafrost (ICOP 2016) in Potsdam, Germany

Read more

Cheng Guodong (2014)

The third IPA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Cheng Guodong during the Fourth European Conference on Permafrost (EUCOP4) in June 2014.

Read More

Prof. Nikolai N. Romanovskii (2012)

The second IPA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Nikolai Romanovskii during the Tenth International Conference on Permafrost (TICOP) in June 2012.

Read more

Prof. J. Ross Mackay (2010)

The first IPA Lifetime Achievement award was presented to Prof. J. Ross Mackay during the European Conference on Permafrost (EUCOP III) in June 2010.

Read more

1 thought on “IPA Lifetime Achievement Award”

Comments are closed.