Member Countries

Photo Credit

Countries may become affiliated to the IPA through the creation of an adhering body: a representative organization or committee designated to represent the interests in permafrost of scientists and engineers of a country. Representatives from adhering bodies make up part of the IPA Council. All countries with an IPA adhering body are listed below. Clicking on any of the country names will show the contact details of the primary IPA contact in that country.

Argentina

Dr. Dario Trombotto
Geocryology
IANIGLA-CRICYT-CONICET
Bajada del Cerro s/n
Casilla de Correo 330
5500 Mendoza, Argentina
Tel: +54 261 4287029 & 4274011 ext 19
Fax: +54 261 4287029 / 54 261 4287370
dtrombot@lab.cricyt.edu.ar

Austria

Dr. Andreas Kellerer-Pirklbauer 
Department of Geography and Regional Science
University of Graz
Heinrichstrasse 36
8010 Graz, Austria
Tel. +43 316 380-896
andreas.kellerer@uni-graz.at

Belgium

Hanne Hendrickx 
Department of Geography
Ghent University
Krijgslaan 281, S8
9000 Gent, Belgium
Tel. +32 (0)9 264 46 19
Hanne.Hendrickx@UGent.be

Canada

Dr. Sharon Smith
Geological Survey of Canada, National Ressources Canada
601 Booth Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A OE8, Canada
Sharon.Smith@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca

Prof. Antoni Lewkowicz
Geography, Environment and Geomatics, University of Ottawa
Simard Hall, 60 University
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 6N5, Canada
alewkowi@uOttawa.ca

China

Prof. Fujun Niu
State Key Laboratory of Frozen Soils Engineering
Northwest Institute of Eco-Environment and Resources
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Lanzhou, 730000, China
niufujun@lzb.ac.cn

Denmark

Prof. Thomas Ingeman-Nielsen
Department of Civil Engineering
BYG.DTU Building 204, Room 242
Technical University of Denmark
DK-2800 Lyngby, Denmark
tin@byg.dtu.dk

Finland

Prof. Jan Hjort
Geography Research Unit
P.O. Box 3000
90014 University of Oulu, Finland
Tel: +358 29 448 1704
jan.hjort@oulu.fi

France

Dr. Antoine Séjourné
Laboratoire GEOPS, UMR 8148 GEOPS
Université Paris-Sud, Bât. 509
F-91405 ORSAY, France
Tel: +33 169 154 929
antoine.sejourne@universite-paris-saclay.fr

Germany

Dr. Michael Fritz
Alfred Wegener Institute
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam 
Phone +49(331)288-2203
Michael.Fritz@awi.de
German Adhering Body/AK Permafrost

Iceland

Halldor Johannsson
Skipagata 12
PO Box 170
602 Akureyri, Iceland
halldor@arcticportal.org

Italy

Dr. Renato R. Colucci
Institute of Polar Sciences (CNR-ISP)
Department of Earth System Sciences and Environmental Technologies
National Research Council (Italy)
c/o Area Science Park – Basovizza
Q2 building, S.S.14 km 163.5; I-34149 Trieste
Italy
Tel: +39 040 375 6876
renato.colucci@isp.cnr.it

Japan

Dr. Kazuyuki Saito
Department of Integrated Climate Change Projection Research
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)
Yokohama
Japan
ksaito@jamstec.go.jp

Kyrgyztan

Dr. Ryskul Usubaliev
Central-Asian Insitute of Applied Geosciences (CAIAG)
Timur-Frunse-Rd. 73/2
720027 Bischkek, Kyrgyzstan
r.usubaliev@caiag.kg

Mongolia

Yamkhin Jambaljav
Institute of Geography
Mongolian Academy of Sciences
Ulaanbaatar–210620
Mongolia
jambaljav@gmail.com

The Netherlands

Dr. Jorien E. Vonk
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Department of Earth Sciences

De Boelelaan 10851081 HV Amsterdam

The Netherlands

j.e.vonk@vu.nl 

New Zealand

Dr. Megan Balks
Faculty of Science and Engineering
University of Waikato
Private Bag 3105
Hamlton 3240, New Zealand
m.balks@waikato.ac.nz

Norway

Arne Instanes
Instanes AS & The University Centre in Svalbard
Norway
arne.instanes@hvl.no

Prof. Bernd Etzelmüller
Department of Geosciences, Physical geography and Hydrology
The University of Oslo
bernd.etzelmuller@geo.uio.no

Poland

Professor Rajmund Przybylak
Nicolaus Copernicus University
Faculty of Earth Sciences and Spatial Management
Lwowska 1, 87-100 Toruń, Poland
Tel: +48 56 611 2621
Fax: +48 56 611 2620
rp11@umk.pl

Portugal

Dr. Gonçalo Vieira
Centro de Estudos Geográficos
Instituto de Geografia e Ordenamento do Território
Universidade de Lisboa
Rua Branca Edmée Marques
1600-276 Lisboa, Portugal
vieira@campus.ul.pt

Romania

Prof. Petru Urdea
Department of Geography
University of Timisoara
Bd. V. Parvan, nr. 4
Tel: +40 256 592 218
Fax: +40 256 490 333
urdea@cbg.uvt.ro

Russia

Dr. Nadezhda Molokitina
Earth Cryosphere Institute
Tyumen Scientific Centre
Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Science
86, Malygina st., box 1230, Tyumen, Russia, 625000
Phone: +7(345-2) 68-87-82
Fax: +7(345-2) 68-87-87
molokitina.nadya@yandex.ru

South Korea

Dr. Yoo Kyung Lee
Korea Polar Research Institute
26 Songdomirae-ro
Yeonsu-gu, Incheon 21990,
Korea
yklee@kopri.re.kr

Spain

Dr. Marc Oliva 
Department of Geography
Universitat de Barcelona
Montalegre 6-8, 3r floor
08001 Barcelona, Spain
+34 934037867 / +34 616104266
marcoliva@ub.edu

Sweden

Dr. Gustaf Hugelius
Stockholm University
Institutionen för naturgeografi
106 91 Stockholm, Sweden
Tel: +4686747873
gustaf.hugelius@natgeo.su.se

Switzerland

Prof. Dr. Reynald Delaloye
Département de Géosciences, Géographie
Université de Fribourg
Pérolles
CH-1700  Fribourg
Switzerland
Reynald.Delaloye@unifr.ch
Tel: +41 26 300 90 21
Fax: +41 26 300 97 46

United Kingdom

Dr. Julian Murton
Department of Geography
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QJ, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)1273 678293
Fax: +44 (0)1273 677196
J.B.Murton@sussex.ac.uk

United States of America

Ed Yarmak, P.E. 
Actic Foundations, Inc.
5621 Arctic Blvd
Anchorage, Alaska
99518, USA
Tel: +1-907-562-2741
eyarmak@arcticfoundations.com

Dr. Kevin Schaefer 
NSIDC (National Snow & Ice Data Center)
CIRES, 449 UCB
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO, 80309-0449, USA 
Tel: +1-303-492-8869
kevin.schaefer@colorado.edu
National Committee