Member Countries

Photo Credit

Countries may become affiliated to the IPA through the creation of an adhering body: a representative organization or committee designated to represent the interests in permafrost of scientists and engineers of a country. Representatives from adhering bodies make up part of the IPA Council. All countries with an IPA adhering body are listed below. Clicking on any of the country names will show the contact details of the primary IPA contact in that country.


Dr. Dario Trombotto
Bajada del Cerro s/n
Casilla de Correo 330
5500 Mendoza, Argentina
+54 261 4287029 & 4274011 ext 19


Dr. Andreas Kellerer-Pirklbauer 
Department of Geography and Regional Science
University of Graz
Heinrichstrasse 36
8010 Graz, Austria
+43 316 380-896


Prof. Elie Verleyen
Department of Biology – Protistology and Aquatic Ecology
Ghent University
Krijgslaan 281, Building S8
9000 Gent, Belgium
+32 (0)9 264 9629

Prof. Sophie Opfergelt
Earth and Life Institute
Croix du Sud 1, L7.05.10
1348 Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
+32 (0)10 47 36 42


Dr. Sharon Smith
Geological Survey of Canada, National Ressources Canada
601 Booth Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A OE8, Canada

Prof. Antoni Lewkowicz
Geography, Environment and Geomatics, University of Ottawa
Simard Hall, 60 University
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 6N5, Canada


Prof. Yanhu Mu
State Key Laboratory of Frozen Soil Engineering
Northwest Institute of Eco-Environment and Resources
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Lanzhou, China
+86 (931) 4697427


Prof. Thomas Ingeman-Nielsen
Department of Civil Engineering
BYG.DTU Building 204, Room 242
Technical University of Denmark
DK-2800 Lyngby, Denmark


Prof. Jan Hjort
Geography Research Unit
P.O. Box 3000
90014 University of Oulu, Finland
+358 29 448 1704


Dr. Antoine Séjourné
Laboratoire GEOPS, UMR 8148 GEOPS
Université Paris-Sud, Bât. 509
F-91405 ORSAY, France
+33 169 154 929


Dr. Michael Fritz
Alfred Wegener Institute
Telegrafenberg A45
14473 Potsdam, Germany 
German Adhering Body/AK Permafrost


Halldor Johannsson
Skipagata 12
PO Box 170
602 Akureyri, Iceland


Dr. Renato R. Colucci
Institute of Polar Sciences (CNR-ISP)
Department of Earth System Sciences and Environmental Technologies
National Research Council (Italy)
c/o Area Science Park – Basovizza
Q2 building, S.S.14 km 163.5; I-34149 Trieste, Italy
+39 040 375 6876


Dr. Tetsuo Sueyoshi
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
3173-25 Showa-machi, Kanazawa-ku, Yokohama-city, 236-0001, Japan
+81 45 778 5539


Dr. Ryskul Usubaliev
Central-Asian Insitute of Applied Geosciences (CAIAG)
Timur-Frunse-Rd. 73/2
720027 Bischkek, Kyrgyzstan


Yamkhin Jambaljav
Institute of Geography
Mongolian Academy of Sciences
Ulaanbaatar–210620, Mongolia

The Netherlands

Dr. Jorien E. Vonk
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Department of Earth Sciences
De Boelelaan 10851081 HV Amsterdam, The Netherlands

New Zealand

Dr. Tanya O’Neill
Department of Earth & Ocean Sciences
University of Waikato
Hamilton 3240, New Zealand


Arne Instanes
Instanes AS & The University Centre in Svalbard, Norway

Prof. Bernd Etzelmüller
Department of Geosciences, Physical geography and Hydrology
The University of Oslo, Norway


Professor Rajmund Przybylak
Nicolaus Copernicus University
Faculty of Earth Sciences and Spatial Management
Lwowska 1, 87-100 Toruń, Poland
+48 56 611 2621


Prof. Pedro Pina
University of Coimbra
Department of Earth Sciences
Faculty of Sciences and Technology
Rua Sílvio Lima, Universidade de Coimbra
Pólo II, 3030-790 Coimbra, Portugal


Prof. Petru Urdea
Department of Geography
University of Timisoara
Bd. V. Parvan, nr. 4, Romania
+40 256 592 218


Dr. Nadezhda Molokitina
Earth Cryosphere Institute
Tyumen Scientific Centre
Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Science
86, Malygina st., box 1230, Tyumen, 625000, Russia
+7(345-2) 68-87-82

South Korea

Dr. Yoo Kyung Lee
Korea Polar Research Institute
26 Songdomirae-ro
Yeonsu-gu, Incheon 21990, Korea


Dr. Marc Oliva 
Department of Geography
Universitat de Barcelona
Montalegre 6-8, 3r floor
08001 Barcelona, Spain
+34 934037867 / +34 616104266


Dr. Gustaf Hugelius
Stockholm University
Institutionen för naturgeografi
106 91 Stockholm, Sweden


Prof. Dr. Reynald Delaloye
Département de Géosciences, Géographie
Université de Fribourg
CH-1700  Fribourg, Switzerland
+41 26 300 90 21

United Kingdom

Dr. Julian Murton
Department of Geography
University of Sussex
Brighton BN1 9QJ, United Kingdom
+44 (0)1273 678293

United States of America

Dr. John Thornley
Anchorage, Alaska
99507, USA
+1 (907) 344-6001

Dr. Kevin Schaefer 
NSIDC (National Snow & Ice Data Center)
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO, 80309-0449, USA 
United States Permafrost Association (USPA)