Troy L. Péwé Award

The Troy L. Péwé Award is granted every four years at the International Conference on Permafrost since 2003. It acknowledges the excellent presentation of a young scientist in permafrost science.

2016 Award Winner: Melissa K. Ward

The 2016 recipient of the Troy L. Péwé Award was Melissa K. Ward from McGill University.

Presentation: Ward, M.K. & Pollard, W.H. Using a mix-methods approach to monitor thermokarst activity in the Eureka Sound Lowlands, Ellesmere Island, Nunavut

Previous Awardees

2012 Anna Liljedahl (University of Fairbanks)

Presentation: Liljedahl, A., Hinzman, L.D., Schulla, J. Ice-Wedge Polygon Type Controls Low-Gradient Watershed-Scale Hydrology

2008 Gregory De Pascale (McGill University / Lettis Associates)

Presentation: De Pascale, G.P. and Pollard, W.H. Geophysical Mapping of Ground Ice in the Western Canadian Arctic

2003 Lukas Arenson

Presentation: Arenson, L., Springman, S. and Hawkins, P. Pressuremeter tests within an active rock glacier in the Swiss Alps