New IPA Vice-Presidents and Executive Committee

Chris Burn, President of the International Permafrost Association, is delighted to announce that Isabelle Gärtner-Roer (Switzerland) and Gonçalo Vieira (Portugal) have agreed to serve as Vice-Presidents of the International Permafrost Association for 2020-2024, and have been appointed to these positions by the Executive Committee. In addition, we are grateful that Professor Yuanming Lai (China) has agreed to join the Executive Committee for 2020-2022. The Executive Committee of the IPA for 2020-2022 is:

Christopher Burn (Canada), President

Isabelle Gärtner-Roer (Switzerland), Vice-President

Gonçalo Vieira (Portugal), Vice-President

Kjersti Gisnas (Norway)

Michael Krautblatter (Germany)

Yuanming Lai (China)

Fritz Nelson (USA)

In addition, Andrey Abramov has kindly agreed to act as a special liaison between the IPA EC and the Russian adhering body. The areas of responsibility of each EC member will be communicated to IPA Council members directly and posted on the IPA web site.

Isabelle crop Goncalo crop

Above: Vice-Presidents of the International Permafrost Association for 2020-2024, Isabelle Gärtner-Roer (left) and Gonçalo Vieira (right).