The IPA signs a Memorandum of Understanding with SCAR and IASC

On March 27th, 2009, The president of the International Permafrost Association, Prof. Hans-Wolfgang Hubberten signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the presidents of the International Arctic Science Committee (IASC), Dr. Kristján Kristjánsson and of the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), Prof. Mahlon C Kennicutt II.

The three parties acknowledged that there were strong grounds for a closer linkage between them, not least in an exchange of views and experience on important scientific topics. A link between them at this time will ensure that all three communities together make an integrated and comprehensive contribution to developing the International Polar Year (IPY 2007-2009) legacy.

The three organisations share a number of common interests and practices, which will make it relatively easy for them to work together, for example in arranging workshops, conferences, and reports on topics of mutual scientific interest, in developing integrated plans for permafrost and polar research as well as the linkages between the inner aspects of polar research, and in providing advice to policy makers. In addition, the secretariats of IASC and IPA are now both located at the Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research in Potsdam, Germany.

The MoU identifies a joint commitment to the excellence in the field of permafrost and polar research, to the pursuit of scientific advances, public awareness and advice to policy makers as well as professional development of young researchers.

Signature Ceremony in Bergen, Norway
Left to right: V. Rachold (Executive Secretary, IASC), H.-W. Hubberten (President, IPA), C. Summerhayes (Executive Director, SCAR), H. Lantuit (Secretariat, IPA), K. Kristjánsson (President, IASC)


More information on the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research
More information on the International Arctic Science Committee