Official opening of EUCOP5 and presentation of the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award to Prof. Dr. Wilfried Haeberli

The 5th European Conference on Permafrost officially began this morning at the Opening Ceremony at Le Majestic Congress in Chamonix. Participants were welcomed by Philip Deline on behalf of the Local Organizing Committee, the mayor of Chamonix, and IPA President Hanne Christiansen. During the ceremony, the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Wilfried Haeberli, a prolific permafrost scientist and general cryosphere expert with extensive experience studying and working in the Alps. The IPA was pleased to have such a fitting occasion to honor Prof. Dr. Haeberli. The ceremony also included an overview of EUCOP5 PYRN activities by outgoing PYRN Vice-President Justine Ramage, and closing remarks by Philip Deline. Everyone is looking forward to the rest of the week!

Philip Deline EUCOP5

Philip Deline of the Local Organizing Committee welcomes participants to the conference.


2018 Lifetime Achievement Award presented to Wilfried Haeberli

IPA President Hanne Christiansen presents the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award to Wilfried Haeberli.